New Year! Quick Update

Wow!  I can’t believe it’s been almost 3 months since my last post. Certainly not something I intended! I’ve had lots of different topics brewing in my mind, and I really do hope to get some of them down soon! I’ll need to make it a priority to carve out some time to get a new blog out at least once a month, if not more.

But why haven’t I written anything in so long?! Really, there’s no excuse. But I have been quite busy, re-immersing myself into heritage and museums in Calgary and beyond. And I really didn’t ease into it at all. I’ve been able to get involved with some very interesting and exciting organizations, working to preserve and promote history, culture, and built heritage in the city, and I am really excited about all of the work that’s happening in the City.

From tours at City Hall, to helping install exhibitions and man pop up galleries, to behind the scenes collections work (reviving my sewing skills!), and serving on boards and committees, I am really a bit all over the place (I think I’ve got 8 or 9 volunteer positions on the go?). But all over the place in the best ways. There are lots of great things happening in the city, and only more to come. I’ve also been doing a little bit of freelance writing, and looking for paid opportunities related to museums and heritage (research, interpretation, archives, museums, collections management… if you come across something, let me know!)

Hopefully soon I’ll be able to follow up this post with some more interesting ones. Just a few of my ideas:

  • Quirky museums and sites
  • Looking at fun vidoes and sites for museums and artifacts
  • Street Art
  • Pretty heritage- does it all have to be pretty to be worth saving?
  • Soane Museum in London, UK
  • A list of all the sites I visited in the UK (quite a bit undertaking!)
  • Authenticity
  • Photography and Copyright in Museums
  • Preserving your personal archives

And lots more!   If you have any other ideas, or want me to address something, let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

